Political Agenda 4/18/2018

Zephyrhills City Council election results The results are in from the April 10 election for seats on the Zephyrhills City Council. Jodi Wilkeson has been elected to the District 3 seat, and Charles E. Proctor has been re-elected to the District 5 seat. Wilson received 553 votes, which represented 45.89 percent of the vote in the District 3 election. Cory Paul Sommers came in second, with … [Read more...]

Zephyrhills voters head to the polls

Voters in Zephyrhills will decide the outcome of two city council seats in an election set for April 10. In District 3, Devin J. Alexander, Cory P. Sommers and Jodi Wilkeson are competing for the seat vacated by Kenneth Compton, who chose not to seek re-election. In District 4, incumbent Charles E. Proctor will face challenger William D. Seville. Voters can pick up carry-out absentee … [Read more...]

Businesses create new beginnings at Zephyrhills chamber

As she read the long list of businesses and community leaders listed on a plaque in the main lobby of the Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce, Vonnie Mikkelsen had to smile. “Many of these people are still around, and they’re still thriving in the community,” said Mikkelsen, the chamber’s executive director. The plaque was erected nearly 15 years ago honoring those who helped move … [Read more...]

Zephyrhills chamber honors year’s best

The Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce awarded its leaders in community, business and government Thursday night during its annual awards banquet at Southport Springs Golf & Country Club in Zephyrhills. The nominees were based on submissions from chamber members, and then selected by a committee that included Amy Chappell, Carolyn Hodges, Carolyn Sentelik, Cliff McDuffie, David West, … [Read more...]

Zephyrhills chamber announces award nominees

The Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce is getting ready for its Annual Awards in Excellence that will be a part of its yearly banquet celebration this fall. The nominees were based on submissions from chamber members, and then selected by a committee that included Amy Chappell, Carolyn Hodges, Carolyn Sentelik, Cliff McDuffie, David West, Gary Hatrick, Jodi Wilkeson, John Kinsman and … [Read more...]

Drumm outlines conditions to resign as city manager

One of Charlie Proctor's first duties as president of the Zephyrhills City Council is a somber one, by his own admission. Wednesday, Proctor and the rest of the council will consider a resignation proposal from City Manager Jim Drumm, leaving a vacancy in the city's top manager's job for the second time in three years. In an April 17 letter to Mayor Gene Whitfield and the rest of the … [Read more...]

Third attorney opinion: Drumm’s contract ends May 18

One of the last actions Jodi Wilkeson championed before being voted of the Zephyrhills City Council was convincing her fellow city leaders to get a third legal opinion on whether or not the city can end the tenure of City Manager Jim Drumm. Heather Brock, an attorney with Fowler White Boggs in Tampa, agreed with two other legal opinions the city already received in recent weeks. In a letter to … [Read more...]

Black wins in landslide while DeWitt, Wilkeson ousted

Being a woman in politics was not easy in East Pasco County Tuesday night. It was man against woman in races in Dade City, St. Leo and Zephyrhills, and in each case, every woman — including two incumbents — lost. Scott Black easily retained his city commission seat against challenger Angelica Herrera in Dade City, according to unofficial results from the Pasco County elections office. He won … [Read more...]

Voters head to polls in Dade City, St. Leo, Zephyrhills

After weeks of campaigning, and in most cases raising thousands of dollars, it's time for voters in Dade City, St. Leo and Zephyrhills to head to the polls and make their choices in three hotly contested races. Angelica Herrera is challenging longtime commissioner Scott Black in Dade City; it's Raphael Davis vs. Commissioner Donna DeWitt in St. Leo, and Alan Knight is going to head-to-head with … [Read more...]

Mail-in votes racking up for municipal elections

In less than 24 hours, polls will open in Dade City, St. Leo and Zephyrhills to decide three local government races. And it's not clear if any last-minute campaigning by any of the candidates may matter. Mail-in ballots already represent an average 7 percent turnout in all three municipalities. St. Leo is leading all the cities and towns in Pasco County with a 17 percent turnout by mail so far … [Read more...]