Gov. Rick Scott signed H.B. 5601 into law May 12 that creates a nine-day sales tax holiday for hurricane supplies beginning May 31 and running through June 8.
“Hurricane season begins June 1, and Florida families need to get a plan,” Scott said, in a release. “While we always hope for the best, Florida families need to be prepared for anything.”
That includes having a family disaster kit with supplies and medications, being prepared to evacuate if advised, and knowing evacuation routes and where pets can be brought, Scott said.
During the holiday, shoppers will be able to purchase hurricane-related supplies like flashlights, batteries, weather radios and other essential items.
Among the items that are covered, according to the finalized bill sent to the governor:
• Portable, self-powered lights, selling for less than $20
• Portable self-powered radio, two-way radio, or weather band radio selling for less than $50
• Tarpaulin or other flexible waterproof sheeting selling for less than $50
• Self-contained first-aid kit selling for less than $30
• Ground anchor system or tie-down kit selling for less than $50
• Gas or diesel fuel tank selling for less than $25
• Batteries, excluding car and boat batteries, selling for less than $30
• Non-electric food storage cooler selling for less than $30
• Portable generator selling for less than $750
• Reusable ice selling for less than $10
The program overall will cost $3 million on the state level, and $700,000 locally, according to a Senate analysis of the bill last April. The back-to-school tax holiday has the biggest impact to the budget, costing the state $32.3 million in tax revenue, and local governments $7.3 million.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.